Sands of Time

sands of timeI never had time for anything. No time to shop. No time for pampering. No time for housecleaning. No time for anything except work. But now everything is different. Since retiring, I have an endless supply of time like millions of grains of sand on the beach.

I have time to read the entire newspaper… if I want. I have time to linger over a cup of coffee… if I want. Just the other day, I walked a lady to her destination instead of giving her directions, because…  I had the time.

It’s as if I’m on an endless vacation. Now I understand why retired people move at such a leisurely pace, because they have time. No schedules to meet… no crises…no todo lists.. no more politics… no more… no more… no more. I don’t care “what you do”,  I no longer take a few seconds to decide if you are worthy of my precious time before moving on to others. I now know that everyone is worthy and everyone has a story if only I take time to listen.

I’ve always said one either has time or money, but not both … unless you’re rich. Not being rich, I’ve had time and I’ve had “comfortable” money, but never both at the same time. So this is a strange, new feeling. It’s like getting used to a new pair of shoes. I’m walking around in them, and they don’t hurt, they don’t pinch, and they feel like the right size, but they still don’t feel quite right.

Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “Sands of Time

  1. Today I was sitting out back painting yellow dots on a box. I started to stop when something said, “Continue, you have time”. Well, I continued so now my box is covered completely with yellow dots. Tomorrow I will add orange dots and the next day green dots and so forth and so on. I will send you an image when I figure out how!

      • Trying to get my writing mojo back, but currently my life is like a snow globe that has been shaken up. Going hither and yon… climbing mountains, hiking, sailing. Acting as if my sands of time will run out. Waiting for everything to settle down so I can enjoy and smell the roses of retirement 🙂

Leave a Reply

