I Miss The Smell of Him

 I miss the smell of him, his smile, and his gentle touch. I miss tousling his hair and massaging his body.  We’ve had some incredible moments together like the night we took the wrong bicycle route. I was sure I knew the way, but by the time I realized we were on the wrong path, it was too dark to go back through the park. So I distracted him by talking about the wonders of exploring new roads. Then we stopped at a doughnut shop for one doughnut each with a shared soda, before continuing up a steep hill. At the top of the hill, we had to cross a car bridge with no shoulder and that was scary.

Finally, way after dark, we made our way home and created a memory. My grandson and I.

Leave a Reply

