Work Will Be There

Stepped onto the deck into a cacaphony of cicadas as I overlooked the sun dappled pool and my lungs sucked the moisture from the air.

Realizing the folly of working indoors during the waning days of summer, I quickly moved to work on the screen-enclosed deck. From there I could see my husband’s outdoor kitchen (i.e, kettle grill) and a little blue sailboat left by one of the grandkids. But, also got to enjoy the flowers kept moist by lugging miles and miles of hoses around the yard during this summer’s drought.

Then I was overcome by the scents of the flowering garden and work became impossible. Allowed myself to indulge to breath to take a moment to relax… to “literally” smell the roses.

Work will be there when I get back from my lollygag.

Leave a Reply

