The First Day of Camp

Each summer we end up with some combination of our grandkids either for a weekend, week or just an overnight. This year I found a Smithsonian computer camp and figured our 10 year old grandson would love learning how to design the games that consume his every waking moment. Then my husband suggested that we invite our 10 year old granddaughter to accompany him.

That sounded like a great idea, until I arrived on the first day of camp and discovered that the other kids in the camp were all boys and super game freaks. There my little granddaughter sat on the edge of the group just watching and listening as my grandson and the others talked about mobs and boomsticks.

I was trying not to freak out. Trying not to be an overprotective grandparent, because even though she hadn’t engaged with the boys, she seemed okay, and when I took her aside and asked if she wanted to change, she said no. The head counselor assured me that she would be okay and that the gamer teacher was actually a girl.

Then I looked around and discovered that all the other parents, grandparents, guardians, etc. had dropped off their kids and quickly departed. I was the only one still standing, watching, and fretting.

So I left assuring myself that everything would be alright.

Leave a Reply

