Hurricane Irene is knocking on the door

Today, as I sit with the sliding door open, listening to the light rain and waiting for the full force of Hurricane Irene to arrive, I am enjoying my husband’s windchimes. When at home, I always have light instrumental music playing in the background. But, sometimes I just like to listen to the sounds of nature, and today is one of those days.

Today, I can see and hear the rain falling off the roof. I can see and hear the tree branches swaying in the wind, and the chimes, though nice, are a distraction. They are unnatural. The winds and rain come in waves like the ebb and flow of the ocean. Some bursts of wind are stronger than others, and the tree branches sway like dancers on a dance floor.

Ultimately, I don’t know what Irene will bring, but right now… I’m enjoying her approach.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

