Changing Lanes

 All these years of observing runners, joggers, and swimmers, I thought they were just doing it for fun or exercise, but recently realized that many of them are “in training.” Wow… what a revelation. Apparently, once we learn how to do something we just want to see how far we can take it. We want to beat someone else at it or just challenge ourselves and what better way than to enter a competition!

Now that I’ve been taking swimming lessons for 2 ½ months, I envision everything through the lens of swimming. I imagine that we are all in different swim lanes… one lane for the athletes, one for the deep thinkers, one for the artists, etc. Like swim lanes, we can easily move from one lane to another simply by dipping under the rope line, and what that’s what I’ve been doing. During the last ten months, I’ve gone into the storytelling lane, the swim lane, and the singing lane. I am having a blast dipping under the ropes going from lane to lane. I linger longer in some than others, and that’s okay.

Changing lanes is exhilarating, fun, scary, challenging…. And I like it.

Leave a Reply

