Expanding My Comfort Zone

Yesterday, I told my first hip-hop poem. Whoever thought I would even consider doing such a thing! My kids would be surprised… I think. Though they are used to their mother doing “different” things, so they might not be as surprised as I think. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of what can best be described as “self help” or “personal development” books, which is a huge change for me, because I don’t need help or personal development. I was the woman who could do it all before it came in vogue in the 70’s.

One of the authors, Robin Sharma, said that “when we step out of our comfort zone, our comfort zone expands. Telling a hip hop poem was way out of my comfort zone. I was nervous and had to resort to reading some of the words. For someone used to speaking before Congressional committees, being nervous in front of a room full of 20-somethings, was quite a change. But, I did it and they asked for an encore, which I declined.

Now that I’ve done it, I feel like I could do it again. So, I have expanded my comfort zone. Have to be careful that it doesn’t contract like a rubber band.

Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

