Counting Down

As hubby prepares to depart for home six weeks ahead of me, I find myself teary, sad, melancholy, and reflective. I reflect on this feeling of “missing him” even before he goes. They say absence makes the heart grow fonder, but in this case his presence has made my heart grow fonder. After 20 years of working and only having evenings and weekends together, the last 10 months of togetherness has brought us closer. Even though I have been working, living in a small town in a foreign country has eliminated a lot of the usual outside activities. Here, we do everything together.

They say that expat couples who come here (UAE) either get stronger or they break apart, because there’s very little space… not physical space, because there’s lots of that, but there is a shortage of personal space.  He can’t go off motorcycling with his buddies and I don’t go out with “the girls” like I would do at home.  Our free time is spent together. When outside distractions are removed, we end up focusing on ourselves… and it’s been wonderful (most of the time J)

My heart is heavy with his impending departure (14 hours and counting). This I feel after only 20 years together. Even knowing that we’ll be together again in six weeks, doesn’t make it easier. Like a true Venutian, I tear up while the Martian is busy making sure that I have everything I will need. He has stocked up my medicines and food supplies. He has asked the neighbors to keep an eye out for me. He’s even encouraging me to hook up with the other ladies for something to do.

Six weeks and counting.

Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Counting Down

  1. You know that there is good in everything. Your strengthened marriage and relationship have been the beneficiaries of your sojourn. Carol Burnette (am I aging myself?) used to end her program by saying “I’m so glad we had this time together…”.

    I saw a lady come in Skyline the other day who looked like you. I must really want to see you.

    • I too am old enough to remember Carol’s sendoff. Your note made me look up the full song. It is really appropriate.

      “I’m so glad we had this time together,
      Just to have a laugh, or sing a song.
      Seems we just got started and before you know it
      Comes the time we have to say, ‘So long.’

      There’s a time you put aside for dreamin’,
      And a time for things you have to do.
      The time I love the best is in the evening –
      I can spend a moment here with you.

      When the time comes that I’m feelin lonely,
      And I’m feelin’ ohooooo – so blue,
      I just sit back and think of you, only,
      And the Happiness still comes through.

      That’s why I’m glad we had this time together,
      ‘Cause it makes me feel like I belong.
      Seems we just got started and before you know it
      Comes the time we have to say, ‘So long.'”

Leave a Reply

